Global Economic Summit – Can we help ourselves

The recent recession hit many of us in South Africa hard.  High numbers of jobs were lost as countless companies closed their doors.  My husband’s family business was hard hit aswell, with blessing, they have remained open, however our budget has become exceptional tight.

A radio discussion this morning got me thinking, I don’t like many ideas our government has on health, housing, social development and environmental issues – I won’t even start on economic issues.  I also feel we talk more than we do.  My activities in the local community help me to give back and do my bit for our society, however I’m left with, “what can I do to take hold of my family’s future in these dull times?”

I feel very strongly that we should all have a skill, hobby or pastime that we enjoy doing.  Why not use that skill or hobby to create a safety net for you to fall financially?  We don’t have to be the next Martha Stewart, but we can make small nest eggs for ourselves.  My thinking is that not only will it be an excuse for you to enjoy something that you love doing, but you can then become a little bit more independent from the government.  This way we become more in control of our future and less reliant on government to create jobs for us. 

So if you don’t like what you hear coming from the Global Economic Summit, don’t feel despondent, you can do something about it!  We can also use this as part of our children’s lives to teach them about hard work and how there is no substitute for it.

Good luck on your independent missions and let me know how it goes…

Leave a Reply

