Weendend Experiment

Every weekend, I’ll be experimenting with a recipe for homemade cleaning materials as we start to phase out the commercial stuff in preparation for our grey water recycling system.

Each weekend, I’ll make and use a recipe which I’ve found on the net, in a book or heard about. I’ll test the recipe to the max with our busy house as the test ground. I’ll give my honest findings and tweaks to the recipes, at the end of the following week, I’ll rate the recipe out of 5 stars.

To kick off the weekend experiment segment, hubby helped me make dishwasher detergent powder last night. I found a few versions of the recipe on the net. Most with the same basic ingredients, I’ve made the no frills recipe. We made a small batch to start off with…

Homemade Dishwasher Powder
100g Bicarb
100g Borax
100g Salt
20g Citric Acid

Directions: 2 Tbsp per load

Combine all ingredients in a bowls with a lid and shake vigorously. The mixture has a “wet” texture to it. I shake it well before spooning into our machine.

A few recipes had essential oils, like tea tree, lemon and orange. I skipped this as I wanted to see if it made an difference.

The results:
The first load had a few oil dishes from fried chips. This left a bit of an oily feel to the load, but on a whole, the dishes were clean and glasses were shiny.

The next load I did I add a squeeze of fresh lemon to the powder before I closed the machine. I also add vinegar to the raise aid compartment. It helped and there was no smell of lemon or vinegar on the dishes.

The next batch I make I will try some lemon essential oil. For the time been, I’ll see how long the small batch lasts and how clean the dishes are.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Recycled Inc said,

    Day 2 of our experimental recipe and it is going very well. The dishes are clean, free of oil (added lemon juice working wonders) and shiny 🙂

  2. 2

    Recycled Inc said,

    Day 7 of our experiment and the verdict on this recipe is 5 star!

    We are very happy with the results and will continue to use it! After the initial problem of oily film on the dishes was sorted out, we had consistant, clean results every day.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

